On Air Now Mellow Moments 1:00am - 6:00am Playing Always - Gavin James
Now Playing Gavin James Always

US Extends Travel Ban Amid Covid 19 Outbreaks

The US has announced that Ireland the UK will be included in its travel ban.

It will come into effect on Monday.

As it stands, any non-American citizen travelling from mainland Europe isn't being allowed in but the restrictions will widen.

Donald Trump confirmed it to reporters - where he also revealed he'd taken a test for the coronavirus but hadn't had a result yet.

Meanwhile, the Tanaiste says Irish citizens should exercise a high degree of caution when making travel plans particularly in Europe.

In a statement, Simon Coveney says a growing number of countries are also imposing restrictions on entry and exit.

His department is now advising against non-essential travel to the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Malta, Poland, and Slovakia.

It'll also be providing additional guidance on Spain, which remains at non-essential travel, while Italy remains at no travel.

The Department's consular advice line will be open through the weekend and Irish embassies and consulates will be using social media to keep citizens informed.

More from Sunshine News

Coming Up On-Air...

Sunshine Meets...